Band Geek New Year’s Resolutions

Something cute I found online the other day. There’s another one about instrument resolutions that I’ll share later. Enjoy!

 

Band Geeks New Years Resolutions

  • I WILL NOT wear my Dinkles to school
  • I WILL expand my listening repertoire beyond “John Phillip Sousa’s Greatest Hits.”
  • I WILL NOT dress the lunch line.
  • I WILL venture outside the band room at least once per day.
  • I WILL NOT put shakos on email smiley faces.
  • I WILL buy some shirts that aren’t from old band performances, competitons, or groups.
  • I WILL NOT conduct along with my car stereo.
  • I WILL convince at least one person that duct tape is magic.
  • I WILL NOT attempt to teach cheerleaders to spin flags.
  • I WILL carry a port at all times.
  • I WILL NOT drum hemiolas on my desk during math class.
  • I WILL stop practicing when my fincers feel as though they will fall off.
  • I WILL NOT quote from Monty Python and the Holy Grail more than oce a week.
  • I WILL remember to eat when band and finals occure simultaneously.
  • I WILL NOT amuse myself at percussionists’ expense.
  • I WILL take only one band class per semester.
  • I WILL NOT kill the sophomore saxophonists who can’t play anything but “Tequila” and “Peter Gunn.”
  • I WILL refer to athletic teams with respect, never as the ‘pre-show entertainment’.
  • I WILL NOT hide in a uniform closet to avoid pep assemblies.
  • I WILL return the bandroom keys to the director when he asks for them.
  • I WILL NOT bevlieve that a baton, podium, or any other inanitmate object is a living object who deserves respect.
  • I WILL figure out where all my black socks went.
  • I WILL NOT make a snowman in a band uniform.
  • I WILL remember to remove my nail polish before every performance.
  • I WILL NOT make in-jokes in the pressence of non-band members.
  • I WILL invent a device to keep woodwind instrumetns warm and in-tune during cold weather.
  • I WILL NOT complain when we have to reheardse indoors during a rainstorm.
  • I WILL cut back to one caffeinated beverage per day.
  • I WILL NOT replace the director’s score with something inappropriate, silly, and/or confusing before a concert.
  • I WILL go to bed before 4:00 AM each evening.
  • I WILL NOT cringe visibly when songs on the radio are out of tune.
  • I WILL acknowledge that piccolo polayers are people, too.
  • I WILL NOT complain when my arms get sore from carrying around a clarinet all day.
  • I WILL understand that nutty bars, grahm crackers with chocolate frosthing, gummy worms, and Mountain Dew do not constitute a balanced meal.
  • I WILL NOT use cheerleaders as scientific test subjects.
  • I WILL thank a band booster before every show.
  • I WILL NOT repaint the sign on the football stadium so ti says ‘band field.’
  • I WILL fold my uniform correctly when putting it away for the winter.
  • I WILL NOT use William Fussel warm-up books as bonfire fodder.
  • I WILL remember my instruments birthday.
  • I WILL NOT refer to my section leader and/or any other puhsy upperclassman as “Spawn of Satan.”
  • I WILL wear SPF 15 or above lip balm when playing in the sun all day.
  • I WILL NOT allow underclassman to be in charge of the VCR on long bus trips.
  • I WILL drive in a safe and courteous manner at all times, even when I’m going to be late to rehearsal.
  • I WILL NOT run over the football team with the marimba.
  • I WILL remain awake during theory lectures.
  • I WILL NOT refer to the band director as “that old bald guy who can’t sing.”
  • I WILL remember to eat at least once a day, even when my schedule is hectic.
  • I WILL NOT shine my Dinkles with magic marker.
  • I WILL get a social life (whatever that is)
About Lady Fair

Lady is a musician with a bachelor's degree in music education. She plays multiple instruments and has participated in numerous musical ensembles, giving her a wide variety of experiences and knowledge to use in her teaching career. Of her ensemble participation, she has fifteen years of band experience, nine years choral, and four years in orchestra. Éowyn's primary instrument is clarinet, with voice and piano being close secondary instruments. Throughout her musical education career she studied voice and clarinet simultaneously. In addition to clarinet, piano, and voice, she has also studied violin and oboe at the college level, and also plays recorder, tin whistle, and other instruments in the woodwind family. If you ask her, she will say, "I chose to major in music education because I have a desire to use my knowledge and experience in music to share its beauty and foster a love of music in the hearts of my students. I hope to encourage my students to try their hardest, feel like they have accomplished something, and give them a life long passion for music." Lady currently teaches private lessons on clarinet, sax, flute, oboe, piano, and voice, and recently gained a position teaching orchestra and chorus at a local middle school. She is also a member of the Once Upon a Dream woodwind ensembles.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Band Geek New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Reblogged this on This is the life of an Ordinary girl like me 🙂 and commented:
    Hey Mandi look at this 😉

Leave a Reply

