It will get better!

As I was subbing the other day, and lamenting the behavior of the terrible chorus children I had in those classes, I longed to have my own classroom. Then I thought to myself, “why would my own students be any better behaved than these? If I can’t get a sub class to behave, how can I get mine to act like human beings instead of primates?” The answer: structure.

I must say that I do enjoy being able to go to different music classrooms throughout the county to work with the students, explain things differently, work the music in a new way, etc. and I like not having the responsibility of paperwork. (I also love teaching private lessons!) Despite all this, I think that I would like to have my own classroom. I’ve come to realize that these sub classes are like experiments for the day when I get a long-term position, and for helping me develop my classroom management skills. I feel that I am not particularly good at behavior management; I feel either too strict or to lenient. I HAVE noticed, however, that the students who I sub for regularly have begun to get used to me and to the way I do things, and that is the key: structure. Students usually enjoy having a set routine, knowing what to expect, and being aware of their responsibilities and what is expected of them. Writing the schedule on the board, doing the same procedure at the beginning of each class, and having everything in its assigned place will help students to feel calm and ready for the day. It’s when something different happens (a sub, power outage, fire drill, etc.) that they go bonkers.

To my fellow new teachers: it does get better! I was terrified out of my mind when I got thrown in as a long-term sub (all of second semester) for the orchestra and piano classes at a magnet school. I had literally no direction and very little info, but over time it did get better. I got used to being the teacher, and the students got used to how I did things. I can’t say that I am particularly experienced or an awesome teacher, but I definitely feel much more comfortable now than I did at the start. If anyone has any stories they’d like to share about their new teacher experiences, please do! Also, I recommend reading “Finding Mrs. Warneke”. Very inspirational and encouraging for new teachers.

Have a wonderful and musical day!

 

 

 

 

 

About Lady Fair

Lady is a musician with a bachelor's degree in music education. She plays multiple instruments and has participated in numerous musical ensembles, giving her a wide variety of experiences and knowledge to use in her teaching career. Of her ensemble participation, she has fifteen years of band experience, nine years choral, and four years in orchestra. Éowyn's primary instrument is clarinet, with voice and piano being close secondary instruments. Throughout her musical education career she studied voice and clarinet simultaneously. In addition to clarinet, piano, and voice, she has also studied violin and oboe at the college level, and also plays recorder, tin whistle, and other instruments in the woodwind family. If you ask her, she will say, "I chose to major in music education because I have a desire to use my knowledge and experience in music to share its beauty and foster a love of music in the hearts of my students. I hope to encourage my students to try their hardest, feel like they have accomplished something, and give them a life long passion for music." Lady currently teaches private lessons on clarinet, sax, flute, oboe, piano, and voice, and recently gained a position teaching orchestra and chorus at a local middle school. She is also a member of the Once Upon a Dream woodwind ensembles.
This entry was posted in Classroom Management, Neutral and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

